Birch Bark Vase

15

The long hike we took the other day with my husband proved to be quite rewarding for me. Beside getting the much needed exercise and fresh oxygen I sourced, for free, the material for my next DIY project.

In our 14 km hike route we came across so many fallen trees in their decomposing phase, and one in particular caught my eye. I think that it was a birch tree and it was in its early phase of decomposition and most of the bark was almost detached from it. I stopped to check how the nature works out this process, and removed a big piece of bark. Then I figured that I could craft something out using this piece of bark!

On my way home the big bark chunk had split into smaller pieces, so I used these pieces to make two cute rustic eco friendly vases.
14
I used storage jars as a base, and in order to wrap the bark around the jar I rolled the bark (while it was still wet) and inserted into a glass vase as shown in the collage. The next day I removed the bark from the vase and it had kept it’s curved shape. To complete the project, I wrapped the curved pieces of bark around the jar and secured them with a piece of white ribbon.
wood vase - Collage
Pretty simple DIY project, and as a result I got these two cute, unique, nature inspired vases.
16
I am loving them, and hope that you will like them too.
17

Thank you for stopping by.
Linking to: Nifty Thrifty Tuesday; Faboulosly Creative Friday (Jenifer Rizzo)

Thanks to the following blogsites for featuring this post: The Cottage Market; The Dedicated House; My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia; A Stroll Thru Life; THe 36th Avenue; The Turquoise Home; This Silly Girls Life; The Romance on a Dime; View From The Fridge; Setting for Four; My Repurposed Life; What Megan Makes; The Shabby Nest; The Pink When; Architecture Art Designs
Besa

43 thoughts on “Birch Bark Vase

  1. What a wonderful way to display flowers and such a chique table decoration. Well done! This would perfectly fit to my breakfast table decoration in pastel. 🙂

  2. I sure do love them!!! I would have never thought to roll them up while wet to keep their shape.. great idea.. well i guess – “a hunting i will go” to look for some in my area.. 🙂

  3. Beautiful idea – how pretty these would look outside for dining ” al fresco ” too !!!
    Pinning – thanks for sharing!
    xxx

  4. These vases are very cute and thank you for sharing them at my Nifty Thrifty Tuesday party. Please be sure to add my party name with a link back to the party at the bottom of your post…thanks 🙂 I wanted to share on facebook, but you didn’t have a link 😦

    Blessings,
    Linda

    1. Thank you Linda for taking time to stop by and for your intention to share these vases on your facebook page. My apologies for an oversight; the link to your site has been added now.
 Have a great week.
      Besa

  5. I love the look of the bark and this is such a pretty and creative idea. Thanks tons for linking to Inspire Me. Hugs, Marty

  6. What pretty vases! I’ve been wanting to do something simliar because we have a birch in our landscaping, but the weather hasn’t allowed me to get out there. For spring, I hope!

    1. Spring is just around the corner, so I wish that your birch project turns as pretty as mine. Thanks for stopping by and for leaving a comment.

    1. Thanks so much for sopping by and for the “follow”. I checked your blog and it is full of beautiful craft ideas. You are soo creative. I am following you too.

Leave a comment