Pom Pom-Edged Blanket

12 14
These past few days we are experiencing a nice rainless sunny wether, so I take every opportunity to spend the afternoons lounging on the sun at my backyard porch curled up with my favorite blanket.

I have had two checked lambswool blankets for over 20 years, and even though throughout these years I bought other different throws and blankets, none of them was good enough to replace my favorite oldies.

However, the age has taken its toll so these oldies are getting thinner and quite fringeless, so in order to make them more fun and to add to them a bit of texture, I replaced the remains of the fringe with huge pompoms. Pompoms are fun, and for me they evoke nice childhood memories, warmth, coziness…

I found a very suitable bulky loosely twisted yarn (BERNST Rowing -5) at craft store, in cream and black. I got one ball-100gram (120 yards) in each color.

To create pompoms I made 2 cardboard rings (3 inches in diameter) as shown below. I started wrapping the yearn around the ring about several times until I wrapped about 18 yards (for each pom).
1
2
Once I have wrapped the yarn around the rings, I placed one scissor tip into the loops and started cutting the loops open.
3
I slightly separated the cardboard rings and using another piece of yarn, at about 7 inch in length, I tied off the center tightly and securely. Once it’s knotted, I had a “ two-strand tail” so I could attach the pompom to the blanket.

4
Once the yarn was tied, I slowly removed the rings from the cut yarn, and I had a beautiful pompom in less than 10 minutes.
5

6
Since my blanket was quite worn at the edges, I had to create kind of a blanket stitch (using a crochet needle) before attaching the pompoms. I used the “two strand-tail” to fasten the pompom to the blanket.
IMG_7257
Now that I have revived my favorite blankets I am looking forward to sunny fall afternoons at my backyard porch, and cozy nights by the fireplace.
10

3
I hope that that my dog is going to resist to these fluffy balls of fun. I had a hard time keeping him away from the yarn while I was working on pompoms.
11,
Do you have an old blanket or throw which you would like to keep it forever? I would love to hear from you.

Thank you for reading.

P.S. Linking to Silver Pennies Sundays Link Party; Nifty Thrifty Things Sunday, Have a Daily Cup of Mrs. Olson; Common Ground; We Call It Junkin; The Shabby Nest; Embracing Change; Made In A Day
Great thanks to the following blogsites for featuring this post: Embracing Change; Have a Daily Cup of MRs. Olson; Made In A Day; Stephanie Lynn
Besa

28 thoughts on “Pom Pom-Edged Blanket

    1. Thank you Angie. I checked your Pumpkin Pull Appart Cake. Great idea for fall entertaing, and super yummy, I guess, as I love carrot cake.

    1. Thank you for hosting a great link party and thank you so much for featuring my Pom Pom-Edged Blanket! All the features are absolutely fabulous, and it is amazing to see how much talent is out there. I pinned a few of my favorites!

  1. I used to make pom poms just like that for my roller skates when I was a kid! Your blankets are lovely, what a great idea you had. Thanks for sharing this at the We Call It Olde Link-Up. (just one little housekeeping thing – please add a link back to my blog in your post, thanks 😉 ) Take care – Dawn @ We Call It Junkin.com

    1. Thank you for hosting the party and your comment Dawn. Sorry for the oversight; the link back to hour post has been added now. Looking forward to visit you again for your interesting posts about old treasure finds. 


  2. I too love pom poms! They must be one of the first crafty things I ever made as a very small child. They are like magic when you cut them and all that puffyness is inside! This is a really lovely makeover – very impressed.

    1. Thank you Julie for stopping through to comment. I also learned to make pom poms in my early childhood and you are so right; watching them transform to lovely puffs was like a magic. I loved your crochet owl brooch. So cute.

  3. this is awesome! i am putting together an article about pom poms and i wondered if i could use one of your images with a link back to your site? thank you! pinning this! 🙂

    1. Thank you for asking for the permission. I have no objection of you using my images of the post in question as long as you include the link back to my site.

Leave a comment